Create a Workflow

This section provides instruction for creating and configuring the workflow for use.

Workflows is a feature that provides a way for users to design and use a step-by-step review process in which users can be assigned responsibility to take action on their step.  When applied to an instance of a record, users can start a workflow which initiates the first step of that workflow.  The user that is defined to take responsibility for the step is shared the record and notified that action is pending. 

  1. Click the Project icon on the left navigation pane.
  2. Scroll down to the Project Administration pane under Document Setup and click the Workflows icon:
  3. The Workflows page will open. Click the New button to add a new Workflows.
  4. The Workflow Details page will open.
    1. Complete the Workflow Name.
    2. Enter a brief Description letting your team know what the is the purpose of the workflow.
    3. Complete the Available For field by indicating which data form(s) the workflow will be used on. Keep in mind the workflow may be used on multiple forms that follow the same process in your project.
    4. Indicate Who Can Start the workflow.
  5. Under Workflow Steps click the New button to start documenting the steps to be completed in this workflow process.
  6. The New workflow step modal window will open to Step 1.
    1. Enter the Step Label which will appear above each step in the visual workflow (i.e. Initial Reviewer, etc.).
    2. Send To (For Action) the user(s) assigned the workflow step and will receive the email notification (can be one or many users).
      1. Share Groups are available at this level to have a predefined group of people, from multiple companies, to send workflows to simultaneously. Share groups are set up at the Project Level with a default visibility of Private, but can be made Public for the entire team to utilize the Share Group.
    3. Who Must Approve (Any reflects any of many approvers can take action individually skipping the remaining approvers or All indicates all reviewers must take action to move the form to the next step).
    4. Days to Approve (the number of days each user has to take action on the form).
    5. With Instructions (Instructions noted will be included in the notification sent to users once the workflow is at their step).
    6. Also Copy (For Information) (Users will be shared the form once the workflow reaches this step and will be able to view the progress of the workflow without being assigned a task Note, this action will not trigger an email notification if the user already has access to the form).
      1. Share Groups are available at this level to have a predefined group of people, from multiple companies, to send workflows to simultaneously. Share groups are set up at the Project Level with a default visibility of Private, but can be made Public for the entire team to utilize the Share Group.
  7. Click the Add button to save the workflow step or the Add & New button to add additional steps to your workflow record. Follow step 6 above to add additional steps to your workflow record. ProjectTeam.com allows as few or as many steps necessary to complete the process of documents.
  8. When you are finished creating all the workflow steps, click Save.


Note: ProjectTeam also allows multiple workflows be used on all documents. This allows users to create one workflow for internal use and additional workflows for external use.